Rugby League is back in Lebanon

Published by Lebanese Rugby League Federation
21 Jul 2021

The Lebanon Rugby League national championship will kick off on Thursday, 29 July 2021, with the participation of four Clubs. The format will consist of one round-robin series where, at the end of the premiership, the second- and third- seeded teams will play a Semi-Final, and the winner will face the first-seeded in the Grand Final.

The four participating clubs are: El Mina RLFC, Grey Wolves RLFC, Tripoli RLFC and Wolves RLFC. In addition, two nines tournaments are scheduled to follow at the end of the championship.

“I am looking forward to our upcoming championship and activities. It is been an extended time since we saw active rugby league in Lebanon.” LRLF CEO Nayef Abi Said.

It will be the first Rugby League match since February 2020, with the CRL Grand Final where the American University of Beirut played the University of Balamand. The upcoming matches will be web-cast live on LebanonRL YouTube Channel.

All participating clubs will receive a  grant based on playing their games and all match day pitch costs will be covered by the LRLF.Abi Said added: “The economic crisis and Covid-19 pandemic has depleted our clubs financial and human capital. We hope that this restart will put us back on the right track.”