Rugby League World Cup

International Rugby League Announces Wheelchair Match Officials Squad for RLWC2021

Published by IRL
25 May 2021

Following a request for nominations from the member nations, International Rugby League (IRL) has selected its Wheelchair Match Officials Squad (WMOS) for Rugby League World Cup 2021 to be held in England later this year.

The squad will meet ahead of RLWC2021 in Sheffield for a training camp to prepare for the tournament before being allocated to one of two officiating teams. One team will head to London to cover the group games taking place in the Copper Box Arena while the other team will remain in Sheffield to officiate the group games there.

The squad is:

Tim Robinson – Australia

Matthew Ball – England

David Butler – England

Laurent Abrial – France

David Roig – France

Ollie Cruickshank – Scotland

Kim Abel – Wales

Lucy Redmond – Wales

The officiating squad will be managed throughout the competition by Alana Sargent of Wales and Steve Abel of England.

International Rugby League’s Match Officials Manager, Stuart Cummings, said: “RLWC2021 has given IRL an opportunity to develop structures for all forms of the game. The selection of this squad was as competitive as any of the other squads we have named this year and it is evidence of the way that the wheelchair game has developed over the years.

“It’s a great opportunity for the officials in this squad to showcase their talents on the international stage with all games being televised and I look forward to welcoming all match officials to England later on this year”.