Rugby League World Cup

Crowning the Champions of the World since 1954

The Rugby League World Cup was the brain-child of French Rugby League official, Paul Barriere, who promoted the idea of a World Cup for Rugby in the early fifties. This came to fruition in 1954 when Great Britain defeated France in Paris to become Rugby’s first-ever world cup winners. It is played now every four years with qualification phases arranged around the world in the lead up to the tournament. It is open to all full and affiliate members of the RLIF. Since 2013 the RLWC finals series has involved 14 teams, in 2021 it will increase to a 16 team format. From 2017, the World Cup Trophy will be named in honour of Paul Barriere.

The world cup features competitions for men, women and wheelchair players and is played every fourth year in the odd year. The next competition will be in England in 2021.

No results found


In a breakthrough moment in rugby league, the Men’s, Women’s and Wheelchair competitions will be staged in a single, celebratory event.